Book Review – The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton

Thank you Disney Book Group and Netgalley for the opportunity to read and review this book. My views are entirely my own.

23197837

Sumptuous, lovely and evocative, The Belles is the kind of novel that begs you to dig in like a midnight snack. With careful strokes of her pen, debut Dhonielle Clayton has created a world both dangerous and beautiful, intriguing and daring. Our MC, a wide-eyed, courageous ‘Belle’ named Camellia dives right into the world of Orleans, where beauty is bought and prized above all else, and discovers secrets in the cities depths.

Fans of Roshani Chokshi and Victoria Aveyard will love the stunning writing and brilliantly crafted world Clayton has created.

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2014436798

Book Review – Gray Wolf Island by Tracey Neithercott

Thank you, Netgalley and Random House, for the opportunity to read this book. My views are entirely my own.

29906023

Let me just start this review by saying that I LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS BOOK! My favorite read of 2017 so far, Tracey Neithercott’s stunning debut was everything I wished for.
I can’t share much of the plot without spoiling any of Neithercott’s carefully threaded story, but I will share the basics. MC Ruby leads a motley assortment of characters (each a mystery all their own) on an adventure across the Gray Wolf Island, in search of treasure. Right from the start, Neithercott proves she’s willing to make sacrifices and tug on your heartstrings, which sets the tone for the entire book – will all of our heroes finish this adventure with their lives? Fantastic writing, fleshed-out, lovable characters, adventure, mystery and suspense, Neithercott does a fantastic job weaving together all the pieces for a breathtaking journey. I could rant on and on about the beautiful prose, the nostalgia inducing adventure (a la The Goonies), or the collection of swoon-worthy book boyfriends.
Gray Wolf Island’s MC, Ruby, is fantastic, her cast of supporting characters so wonderful that they reach from the pages and drag you on the adventure with them each step of the way, brought further to life by Neithercott’s remarkable writing (See? I told you I could go on and on about the writing). Not only are the characters fleshed-out, as is the setting, Gray Wolf Island a character in itself, an enigma, a piece of land waiting to be conquered by Ruby and her friends, taunting her in that spit of sea.
Fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Laini Taylor will absolutely love the whimsical, lyrical writing, and unique settings and characters! If you loved Stiefvater’s The Scorpio Races, or Taylor’s Strange the Dreamer, don’t pass up this book!

 

Book Review – Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody

Thank you Netgalley for the chance to read this book. My views are entirely my own.

30237061

For a debut, Foody wields the power of the pen with expertise. The writing is succinct and clever, the world beautifully crafted and explored, and the characters are engaging and witty. I felt swept up by the world and accepted by Sorina’s family. What more could a reader ask for?

Gomorrah, the festival of wonders, full of twists and turns, adventure and charm. Foody manages to paint this living, ever-expanding, always-moving city beautifully, Gomorrah coming to life upon the pages. If Gomorrah were real, I would want to lose myself within its wonders almost immediately. The city teems with mystery and political intrigue, magic and mythology.

Through the adventures of our MC Sorina, we uncover the mysteries of Gomorrah. Sorina is an able, unique MC, equal parts tenacity and bravery, wit and creative. Sorina is an entirely unique character in the world of YA, for many reasons, including her unique appearance (lack of eyes). Sorina’s cast of creations, also her family, are equally fleshed out. For fabrications, the mystery of their demise is still heart-wrenching because of Foody’s clever writing.

Overall, fans of Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone are sure to love this book and the world Foody has created. I can only hope that Foody continues to explore Gomorrah, a world ripe with mystery and adventure.

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1764222929

Book Review! A Poison Dark and Drowning by Jessica Cluess

Wow, I really hit the jackpot on ARCs this month! I feel so blessed by the book gods!

Thank you, Jessica Cluess, for sending me a copy of this book! My opinions are entirely my own.

50de85b2-98ba-458f-90f9-6c5042d596a2

I was lucky enough to receive a beautiful signed ARC of this masterpiece.

I looooooooved A Shadow Bright and Burning, but A Poison Dark and Drowning blew me away. The stakes were raised, the characters grew, the twists were endless and the action was gripping! Cluess knocked it out of the park as far as sequels go. It’s very rare for me to enjoy a sequel as much, let alone MORE than the original, but Cluess managed with grace and verve.

Under Cluess’s able pen, the magical cast of characters grew and unfurled, each with their own arcs. I love Henrietta’s growth, and I especially love that Henrietta is able to maintain her agency throughout the book, despite many swoony overtures thrown her way and more than a handful of heartbreaking twists. The old characters will continue to surprise and adore you, the new will enthrall you! I especially love the addition of a certain spunky witch and the friendship that blossoms between her and Henrietta. I’m a sucker for books with positive, healthy friendships, and this book sure didn’t disappoint.

Overall, this book is twisty and action-packed, swoon-worthy and romantic. I definitely recommend this beauty to fans of the historical fantasy in The Dark Days Club, the swoony romance of Caraval, and the gripping action and determined heroine of Rebel of the Sands. Pre-order yourself a copy of this masterpiece NOW!

 

Book Review! A Crown of Wishes by Chokshi

Thank you Netgalley and St. Martin’s Press for the opportunity to read and review this book! My opinions are entirely my own.

29939047

Let me just start off by saying – this is a thoroughly enjoyable adventure! While I haven’t read The Star-Touched Queen (YET!) I have heard some criticisms of Roshani Chockshi’s writing style, and was a bit hesitant going into A Crown of Wishes… and ended up being VERY pleasantly surprised! Chockshi manages a rare feat of turning a poem into an adventure, a song into a story. Each sentence is a delight and leaves me filled with so much writer envy I can hardly stand it.

Writing aside, the story is brilliantly mapped out as well. Characters leap off the page, their agency never forgotten, their wit and verve endless. You will swoon over Vikram and cheer for Gauri. Their entirely original tale has the potential to be shared for years and years. Sassy birds and haunted pasts fill out the corners, the twists and turns on Gauri and Vikram’s path leaving you gripped. You won’t be able to put down this book!

Overall, I definitely recommend this book to fans of Renee Ahdieh’s The Wrath and the Dawn, and readers who can’t get enough of Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes. Also, if you haven’t read Star-Touched Queen yet don’t fret – this book stands entirely on its own!

Book Review – The Traitor’s Kiss by Erin Beaty

Thank you, Netgalley, for a copy of this book. My opinions are entirely my own.

29346870

Oh man, this book was SO GOOD!

When I first jumped into The Traitor’s Kiss, I wasn’t expecting this beauty. Such a welcome surprise, and it left me reading for hours on end. I honestly couldn’t put it down.If you are a fan of Kiss of Deception, you are sure to love this book. Twisty, smart, engaging and thankfully bereft of Purple Prose, debut Erin Beaty weaves a story of love and misconceptions, spies and war with wit and poise.

Our heroine, Sage Fowler glows and blossoms, and Beaty gives her just the right amount of character development to leave us enamored. Sage isn’t perfect, and just the right amount of admirable and witty for her character to be engaging and adored. Beaty’s supporting cast is each given their time to shine and grow as well.

The twists will keep you reading, the romance will keep you dreaming. If you love Kiss of Deception or The Winner’s Curse, you must read this book!

Book Review – The Falconer byElizabeth May

Thank you, Netgalley, for a copy of this book. My opinions are entirely my own.

15791085

I was so delightfully surprised by this book. I’ll admit that I hesitated to pick up this book for the longest time SIMPLY BECAUSE OF THE NAME. I know, guys. I’m terrible. I thought for the longest time that this book was Historical, not Historical Fantasy, and that it was about an actual Falconer. My distaste for picking up this book led me to STILL not read it (even though Netgalley so generously provided for me a copy) until I read some other books first. Because I’m petty like that.

Okay, now to business.

I’ll admit – I loved this book. It’s probably because I was so sideswiped by the premise. It had everything I wanted to get me out of my book hangover – romance, non-stop action, SCOTLAND (I don’t know if I’ve said this enough times, but I’m actually from Scotland, raised in Scotland, and I go back frequently for months at a time because I love/miss it so much), Victorian society, devious men that remind me so much of ACOMAF (YOU KNOW WHO I’M TALKING ABOUT DON’T BOTHER ASKING), a woman who invents and saves her damn self, and a fae that gets drunk on honey. I never knew I needed that last one in my life, but there it is.

I loved the characters, I loved the setting, and I loved basically everything about this book. All in all, check out this book!