Book Review – The Falconer byElizabeth May

Thank you, Netgalley, for a copy of this book. My opinions are entirely my own.

15791085

I was so delightfully surprised by this book. I’ll admit that I hesitated to pick up this book for the longest time SIMPLY BECAUSE OF THE NAME. I know, guys. I’m terrible. I thought for the longest time that this book was Historical, not Historical Fantasy, and that it was about an actual Falconer. My distaste for picking up this book led me to STILL not read it (even though Netgalley so generously provided for me a copy) until I read some other books first. Because I’m petty like that.

Okay, now to business.

I’ll admit – I loved this book. It’s probably because I was so sideswiped by the premise. It had everything I wanted to get me out of my book hangover – romance, non-stop action, SCOTLAND (I don’t know if I’ve said this enough times, but I’m actually from Scotland, raised in Scotland, and I go back frequently for months at a time because I love/miss it so much), Victorian society, devious men that remind me so much of ACOMAF (YOU KNOW WHO I’M TALKING ABOUT DON’T BOTHER ASKING), a woman who invents and saves her damn self, and a fae that gets drunk on honey. I never knew I needed that last one in my life, but there it is.

I loved the characters, I loved the setting, and I loved basically everything about this book. All in all, check out this book!

Leave a Reply

