ARC Review! – Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

It’s been awhile, blog! I’m sorry I’ve been neglecting you! I promise I’ll start posting my reviews here too. If any of you readers are curious, I’ve been posting my reviews on my goodreads account 🙂

https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/13140312-claire

daughter-of-the-pirate-king-by-tricia-levenseller

Let me just preface this review by saying – I absolutely adored this book!

I was lucky enough to get an ARC of this book through Netgalley (Thank you, Netgalley!) and my review is entirely my own and unbiased.

Though I’m not a fan of reading on my kindle, I made an exception for this beauty. Tricia Levenseller did an excellent job weaving together fantasy and the world of pirates. I love that she created an entirely fictional world for this story, and the characters effortlessly come to life under the deft strokes of Levenseller’s pen.

I am also typically a fan of longer novels, but Levenseller leaves the door open at the end of this book, paving the way to a sequel filled with world-building, fantasy and pirate hi-jinks. I was a bit worried when I saw the low page count, but Levenseller fit in the perfect amount of romance, fantasy and suspense, which makes me especially eager for the sequel.

The MC, Alosa, is a character I think readers will LOVE! She’s a badass, entirely realistic considering her circumstances, and equal amounts roguish and compassionate. I especially loved her friendships with the female crew members, and I can’t wait to read more about them in the sequel! Though the main plot twist surrounding Alosa didn’t surprise me, I enjoyed the additional twist as it added just the right amount of fantasy to the story.

Overall, I recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good adventure, with daring MC’s and a healthy dash of romance!

Leave a Reply

