Book Review Sunday! The Night Circus!

Man, its been a busy couple of weeks. And not in a good way. I’m sorry I haven’t been posting much lately. School has been kicking my ass. Between 7 classes, 2 jobs, preparing to move across the country, and still trying in vain to have a social life, I haven’t had much time to devote to my poor blog. Hopefully this summer I’ll have more time to post regularly.

image

Ah. The Night Circus. Now last week I proclaimed my hatred for Falling Kingdoms for all the world to see. This week its a bit tricky. While I didn’t necessarily like this book, and in fact the only reason I read it all the way through is because members of my family kept handing me copies of it, I didn’t hate this book either.
The Night Circus, proclaimed to be infinitely imaginative and clever, was, for lack of a better word, just interesting. It wasn’t enthralling, and to be honest I was kind of bored with it. And I was even confused many times while reading it. Not because the story is difficult, but because the plot jumps back and forth and sideways and frequently forgets about the importance of its characters. I frequently asked myself “who am I reading about?”
And, the great pitfall of the story, I didn’t necessarily care who I was reading about – I hated all of the characters. They were all selfish and self-centered, and it irks me to no end.
Aside from the folly of horrible characters, The Night Circus is somewhat interesting. It’s a magic show, and Morgenstern’s writing is fantastic. She has mastered the voice of a magician. She managed to make tangible the magic of the night circus, even if you don’t necessarily care about the characters.
Overall, The Night Circus is an interesting read, and if that’s what you’re interested in, then I recommend you snatch it up. If you want a book with compelling likeable characters, then I would give this one a hard pass.

Leave a Reply

