Fall

As I lay in bed, my kitties cuddling on my back, I can’t sleep. Thoughts of queries, school, three jobs and friends tumble through my head.
It’s been a long time since I’ve felt this kind of restlessness and it took me a long time to put my thumb on why I’m bitten by it now.
It’s Fall.
I despise fall. School is starting, the money you spend all summer saving disappears in a heartbeat. And everything is getting cold and dying. Including Auke Lake.
Auke Lake was my refuse. My place of sanctuary where I could spin, float, dive and escape reality for multiple hours a day. Now I can’t. The water is too cold for anyone to stay in for extended periods of time, and now I don’t have that stress-relief.
Can summer get here already? I’m sick of fall.

image

Leave a Reply

