Book Review – Warcross by Marie Lu

Hey friends! I know, I’m terrible about posting on a regular basis, but I’ve got a special review for you guys today!

20133777_10155540876479025_493034552_o

I was recently lucky enough to get ahold of an arc of Warcross by the wonderful Marie Lu! Consider me blessed by the book gods!

tumblr_omk5s2204v1qifd6lo1_1280

And where do I start? This book was everything I wanted and more! Lu’s storytelling ability grows with each book, and Warcross did not disappoint. Everything from the intricately painted setting, filled with flourishes of color and rich with detail, to the engaging characters, fully-realized and just as vibrant as their setting, Lu’s Warcross is painstakingly brought to life.

Our heroine, the brilliant Emika Chen, is both a hacker and a bounty hunter. When she accidentally hacks her way into the biggest game of the century, a virtual reality competition called Warcross, she catches the eye of its creator, the enigmatic and mysterious Hideo Tanaka. Assigned by Hideo to complete a bounty hunt in the game, Emika brings the reader along a whirlwind adventure.

I adore each and every one of the characters, from brilliant Hammie to the mysterious Ren. The games will enthrall and dazzle you like a carnival ride you never want to get off of. Lu also excels at crafting yet another excellent plot twist, one that will make you fall from your seat.

With stakes and games akin to The Hunger Games, and a wonderfully diverse cast, Warcross is a delight in every way. I recommend it to everyone! Also, can I have the sequel RIGHT NOW?!

Book Review – The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton

Thank you Disney Book Group and Netgalley for the opportunity to read and review this book. My views are entirely my own.

23197837

Sumptuous, lovely and evocative, The Belles is the kind of novel that begs you to dig in like a midnight snack. With careful strokes of her pen, debut Dhonielle Clayton has created a world both dangerous and beautiful, intriguing and daring. Our MC, a wide-eyed, courageous ‘Belle’ named Camellia dives right into the world of Orleans, where beauty is bought and prized above all else, and discovers secrets in the cities depths.

Fans of Roshani Chokshi and Victoria Aveyard will love the stunning writing and brilliantly crafted world Clayton has created.

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2014436798

Book Review – Gray Wolf Island by Tracey Neithercott

Thank you, Netgalley and Random House, for the opportunity to read this book. My views are entirely my own.

29906023

Let me just start this review by saying that I LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS BOOK! My favorite read of 2017 so far, Tracey Neithercott’s stunning debut was everything I wished for.
I can’t share much of the plot without spoiling any of Neithercott’s carefully threaded story, but I will share the basics. MC Ruby leads a motley assortment of characters (each a mystery all their own) on an adventure across the Gray Wolf Island, in search of treasure. Right from the start, Neithercott proves she’s willing to make sacrifices and tug on your heartstrings, which sets the tone for the entire book – will all of our heroes finish this adventure with their lives? Fantastic writing, fleshed-out, lovable characters, adventure, mystery and suspense, Neithercott does a fantastic job weaving together all the pieces for a breathtaking journey. I could rant on and on about the beautiful prose, the nostalgia inducing adventure (a la The Goonies), or the collection of swoon-worthy book boyfriends.
Gray Wolf Island’s MC, Ruby, is fantastic, her cast of supporting characters so wonderful that they reach from the pages and drag you on the adventure with them each step of the way, brought further to life by Neithercott’s remarkable writing (See? I told you I could go on and on about the writing). Not only are the characters fleshed-out, as is the setting, Gray Wolf Island a character in itself, an enigma, a piece of land waiting to be conquered by Ruby and her friends, taunting her in that spit of sea.
Fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Laini Taylor will absolutely love the whimsical, lyrical writing, and unique settings and characters! If you loved Stiefvater’s The Scorpio Races, or Taylor’s Strange the Dreamer, don’t pass up this book!

 

Book Review – Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody

Thank you Netgalley for the chance to read this book. My views are entirely my own.

30237061

For a debut, Foody wields the power of the pen with expertise. The writing is succinct and clever, the world beautifully crafted and explored, and the characters are engaging and witty. I felt swept up by the world and accepted by Sorina’s family. What more could a reader ask for?

Gomorrah, the festival of wonders, full of twists and turns, adventure and charm. Foody manages to paint this living, ever-expanding, always-moving city beautifully, Gomorrah coming to life upon the pages. If Gomorrah were real, I would want to lose myself within its wonders almost immediately. The city teems with mystery and political intrigue, magic and mythology.

Through the adventures of our MC Sorina, we uncover the mysteries of Gomorrah. Sorina is an able, unique MC, equal parts tenacity and bravery, wit and creative. Sorina is an entirely unique character in the world of YA, for many reasons, including her unique appearance (lack of eyes). Sorina’s cast of creations, also her family, are equally fleshed out. For fabrications, the mystery of their demise is still heart-wrenching because of Foody’s clever writing.

Overall, fans of Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone are sure to love this book and the world Foody has created. I can only hope that Foody continues to explore Gomorrah, a world ripe with mystery and adventure.

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1764222929

Book Review! A Poison Dark and Drowning by Jessica Cluess

Wow, I really hit the jackpot on ARCs this month! I feel so blessed by the book gods!

Thank you, Jessica Cluess, for sending me a copy of this book! My opinions are entirely my own.

50de85b2-98ba-458f-90f9-6c5042d596a2

I was lucky enough to receive a beautiful signed ARC of this masterpiece.

I looooooooved A Shadow Bright and Burning, but A Poison Dark and Drowning blew me away. The stakes were raised, the characters grew, the twists were endless and the action was gripping! Cluess knocked it out of the park as far as sequels go. It’s very rare for me to enjoy a sequel as much, let alone MORE than the original, but Cluess managed with grace and verve.

Under Cluess’s able pen, the magical cast of characters grew and unfurled, each with their own arcs. I love Henrietta’s growth, and I especially love that Henrietta is able to maintain her agency throughout the book, despite many swoony overtures thrown her way and more than a handful of heartbreaking twists. The old characters will continue to surprise and adore you, the new will enthrall you! I especially love the addition of a certain spunky witch and the friendship that blossoms between her and Henrietta. I’m a sucker for books with positive, healthy friendships, and this book sure didn’t disappoint.

Overall, this book is twisty and action-packed, swoon-worthy and romantic. I definitely recommend this beauty to fans of the historical fantasy in The Dark Days Club, the swoony romance of Caraval, and the gripping action and determined heroine of Rebel of the Sands. Pre-order yourself a copy of this masterpiece NOW!

 

Book Review! A Crown of Wishes by Chokshi

Thank you Netgalley and St. Martin’s Press for the opportunity to read and review this book! My opinions are entirely my own.

29939047

Let me just start off by saying – this is a thoroughly enjoyable adventure! While I haven’t read The Star-Touched Queen (YET!) I have heard some criticisms of Roshani Chockshi’s writing style, and was a bit hesitant going into A Crown of Wishes… and ended up being VERY pleasantly surprised! Chockshi manages a rare feat of turning a poem into an adventure, a song into a story. Each sentence is a delight and leaves me filled with so much writer envy I can hardly stand it.

Writing aside, the story is brilliantly mapped out as well. Characters leap off the page, their agency never forgotten, their wit and verve endless. You will swoon over Vikram and cheer for Gauri. Their entirely original tale has the potential to be shared for years and years. Sassy birds and haunted pasts fill out the corners, the twists and turns on Gauri and Vikram’s path leaving you gripped. You won’t be able to put down this book!

Overall, I definitely recommend this book to fans of Renee Ahdieh’s The Wrath and the Dawn, and readers who can’t get enough of Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes. Also, if you haven’t read Star-Touched Queen yet don’t fret – this book stands entirely on its own!

Book Review – The Traitor’s Kiss by Erin Beaty

Thank you, Netgalley, for a copy of this book. My opinions are entirely my own.

29346870

Oh man, this book was SO GOOD!

When I first jumped into The Traitor’s Kiss, I wasn’t expecting this beauty. Such a welcome surprise, and it left me reading for hours on end. I honestly couldn’t put it down.If you are a fan of Kiss of Deception, you are sure to love this book. Twisty, smart, engaging and thankfully bereft of Purple Prose, debut Erin Beaty weaves a story of love and misconceptions, spies and war with wit and poise.

Our heroine, Sage Fowler glows and blossoms, and Beaty gives her just the right amount of character development to leave us enamored. Sage isn’t perfect, and just the right amount of admirable and witty for her character to be engaging and adored. Beaty’s supporting cast is each given their time to shine and grow as well.

The twists will keep you reading, the romance will keep you dreaming. If you love Kiss of Deception or The Winner’s Curse, you must read this book!